What is NHS Continuing Healthcare?

NHS Continuing Healthcare means a package of ongoing care that is arranged and funded solely by the National Health Service (NHS) specifically for the relatively small number of individuals (with high levels of need) who are found to have a ‘primary health need’. Such care is provided to an individual aged 18 or over to meet health and associated social care needs that have arisen as a result of disability, accident or illness.

NHS Continuing Healthcare is free, unlike support provided by local authorities, which may involve the individual making a financial contribution depending on income and savings. It is the responsibility of the Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) to decide the appropriate package of support for someone who is eligible for NHS Continuing Healthcare.

Who is eligible for NHS Continuing Healthcare?

People over 18 years of age who have been assessed as having a ’primary health need’ are entitled to NHS Continuing Healthcare. Eligibility for NHS Continuing Healthcare is not dependent on a particular disease, diagnosis or condition, nor on who provides the care or where that care is provided.

How do you become eligible for NHS Continuing Healthcare?

There is a screening process with a Checklist followed by a full assessment of eligibility which help determine whether or not someone is eligible for NHS Continuing Healthcare. More information on these processes is below.

Eligibility Criteria


Contact our NHS Funded Care Team

Further useful links

The above film is a guide for individuals and their families to NHS Continuing Healthcare and what to expect throughout the complex assessment process.