Do you need to apply for Continuing Healthcare?

Continuing Healthcare

On 01 October 2007 the government implemented a National Framework to be used by NHS primary care trusts to identify those individuals who are eligible to have their care packages fully funded by the NHS. This document supersedes any local eligibility criteria (previously the Greater Manchester Strategic Health Authority eligibility criteria for Continuing Health Care).

The National Framework is a comprehensive process whereby the focus is centred on the individual and the complexity and intensity of their health care needs. CCGs are the lead organisations for implementing this complex process, but the expectation is that partnership working is promoted to ensure that there is an open and transparent process of assessment and decision making in respect of an individual's eligibility for NHS funding. The National Framework relates to all adults over the age of 18.

To speak to a member of Salford CCG's continuing healthcare team, please call 0161 212 4163.

Eligibility Criteria

Choice Policy


Public Information Leaflet


Decision Support Tool June 2016 

Fast Tracking Tool


Delayed Discharges

Funded Care Local Resolution Process


Further Useful Links